The Day Brightener

Because everyone has the right to be truly free and happy

Try A Little Kindness

The last post provided A Very Special Advent Calendar to encourage the gift of giving this Christmas.  Now, here is some music to inspire your acts of kindness!  What else could it be but Try A Little Kindness by Glenn Campbell.

When I listened to this song a few days ago my first impression was that it was a little old and boring.  I was not quite sure it was what I was looking for.  But you know ever since then it has just stuck in my head. In fact even as I am writing this post it is playing in the background of my mind.  So now I have no choice but to share it with you, with the hope that becomes as wonderfully annoying for you!

Sometimes kindness may seem a little trivial, and I know there are times that I think my small act could not really make a difference.  But kindness, no matter how small is a BIG thing. Your kindness and compassion are the keys to happiness, both for others and yourself.  You see, when you spend your days focused on your own problems, your own possessions and your own desires, life feels isolated, grey and heavy.  But when you replace your own selfish concerns with care and kindness to others, then it is like a weight has been lifted off your shoulders.  You remove the burden of your self preoccupation, and replace it with the sense of connectedness, lightness and clear purpose that comes from compassion.

“If you want others to be happy, practice compassion. If you want to be happy, practice compassion.” Dalai Lama

I hope that this song inspires you to shine your light of kindness today – not only for benefit of others, but to bring light, hope and peace to your own heart as well.

Leave a Reply

