The Day Brightener

Because everyone has the right to be truly free and happy

I’m On My Way

“I’m on my way from misery to happiness today.”

A big thanks goes to my beautiful cousin Suellen for her idea for the next addition to The Day Brightener Soundtrack.  It is I’m On My Way by The Proclaimers.

This song takes us back to when we were kids, hanging out in my room listening to tapes.  We used to play some songs over and over again to remember the words, and the Proclaimers was on top of our hit list for a long time.  I loved the songs that were bright and bubbly, but I also adored the accent.  I remember singing along with my own try-hard scottish drawl, but enjoying every minute.  I was sure we sounded fantastic!

It was great to dig into the archives and watch the video clip for this song again after all these years.  Two things struck me watching it with fresh (and somewhat older) eyes.  First, these guys do really inspire hope – golly there could not be two more unlikely looking pop stars!  And second, there is a great message in the clip – turning misery to happiness is in our own hands.

I hope that you enjoy this song as well and that it brings a little brightness to your day. Don’t be afraid to sing along with your best scottish accent!

I’m on My Way – The Proclaimers

For more inspirational music go to: Music Of The Day Brightener

2 comments on “I’m On My Way

  1. antoniopinon
    September 10, 2011

    I have found a website (http://musicovery.com/) that allows you to discover songs according to your mood. All you have to do is select the “emotional coordinates” (positive to dark and energetic to calm). Enjoy!

    • thedaybrightener
      September 12, 2011

      Thanks so much Antonio. That site is so cool! I really appreciate you letting me know about it. I can’t wait to explore further – I am sure it will provide much inspiration for The Day Brightener Soundtrack. Hope you are having a great day.

Leave a Reply

