The Day Brightener

Because everyone has the right to be truly free and happy

From My Mother

I was blessed to attend the Happiness Conference in Brisbane a few weeks ago, with a highlight being hearing the Dalai Lama speak. He is such a truly beautiful man, full of genuine and boundless warmth. He had many wise thoughts to share, but one of the most amazing things he said was when he was asked who his greatest teachers were. He responded:

“I got the gift of compassion from my Mother.”

This statement had me in awe. Despite all of his tutors, many who had trained and meditated their whole lives on altruism and loving kindness, the person whom he credits with teaching him compassion was his own mother.

As I mother, this led me to reflect what a truly privileged position we hold in our children’s lives, to be able to show them all the beauty in the world, and in their own hearts. But with this privilege also comes a responsibility – to be the best person we can be, so that we have the best to give to the world, and our children.

As I take my journey through life, and through motherhood, I can only hope that I can show my children the happiness that comes from being true to yourself, and the joy that comes from living life with a warm and open heart.

I hope you enjoy this picture. I was taken by Matthieu Ricard, a Buddhist Monk, philosopher and photographer. it is the first photo entry in The Day Brightener Gallery, but I look forward to sharing many more with you.  You can find more of Matthieu’s beautiful and inspiring photos and writings at: www.matthieuricard.org

You can see more inspirational art at: The Day Brightener Gallery

2 comments on “From My Mother

  1. Cassandra
    July 18, 2011

    Awww mums.
    My mum was planning to go to this conference but didn’t make it in the end. How was it?

    • thedaybrightener
      July 21, 2011

      Hi Cassandra! The conference was truly awesome and inspiring. More than anything it was just so wonderful to be around so many people who are connecting back to the true sources of happiness, and helping others do it as well. I am still trying to process all the wonderful thoughts and ideas that came from it. I will have to start saving up for next year!

Leave a Reply

