The Day Brightener

Because everyone has the right to be truly free and happy

I Have A Voice

I am thrilled to present the next entry in The Day Brightener cinema – The King’s Speech.  As you can tell, it has taken me ages to watch this film. But from the very first moment I was hooked.  While it is a story of a King from a place and time I can never really comprehend, I felt connected to, and moved by his plight.  This is because it is also a story of a man who is constantly challenged and confronted by his fears.  A story we all share.

We all have impediments of some sort – some physical, but many more psychological and emotional.  They cause us to question our self-worth, abilities and rights. I believe the success of our time here on earth is judged by the courage we find to overcome these hurdles and find our voice, our power.

“Character cannot be developed in ease and quiet. Only through experience of trial and suffering can the soul be strengthened, ambition inspired, and success achieved.” Helen Keller

That is why, when King George finally yells “I have a voice” I get shivers down my spine. I feel so proud of him for reclaiming his true power.

And the good news for us?  We do not have the expectations of an empire upon us, nor a nation awaiting our every word.  It is only our own hearts patiently waiting in the wings, ready for us to find the courage of a king.

There were two other messages that this movie had for me:

  1. We can’t do it alone – finding a confidant and a guide is so important.  It could be a family member, a friend, or a counsellor, dream therapist, nun or Buddhist monk.  The right people will help and support you, encourage and challenge you to keep removing the hurdles.  Find these people and cherish them.
  2. And on a lighter note – there is nothing wrong with well-placed profanity!  I usually hate swearing in movies.  I find it a real turn off.  But in this movie, the swearing was a perfect way to help King George express his anger,release the burden of expectation, and just for a moment stop taking himself so seriously – just see how well it works.  Note: there is swearing in this clip.
Sporadic cursing is a much healthier option then drowning emotions with booze, drugs or self-pity, but may not be your cup of tea.  So just in what about some more active methods? How about dancing, singing, running, playing sport – whatever it takes to get the emotion out.  You will feel better for it.

“What I am looking for is not out there, it is in me.” Helen Keller

If you like this post, remember to check out the other Day Brightener movies at:  The Day Brightener Cinema

And please send through any ideas for more Day Brightener movies!!!

One comment on “I Have A Voice

  1. Pingback: If I Had A Hammer | The Day Brightener

Leave a Reply

