The Day Brightener

Because everyone has the right to be truly free and happy

A Little Bit of Lavender

Last week I had to go to hospital for a very routine procedure. Despite having all the confidence in the world in the hospital, and the surgeon, I was still a bit anxious.

I was put somewhat at ease by the lovely nurses, who guided me through all of the preparations.  And then as I was put on the operating table a wonderful thing happened.  The nurse covered me with heated blankets and the warm, tender aroma of lavender filled the air.

Immediately my concern disappeared, to be replaced with a sense of peace.  My mind wandered to cuddles with my Mother as she wore Yardley lavender perfume, and lovely times as a young girl making potpourri presents for my aunts.

I told the nurse how much I enjoyed the lavender blankets, and she told me that one of the orderlies likes to put the oil in the blankets when she is preparing them in the
morning.  I could not help but think what a truly beautiful and compassionate deed this was.  The orderly took the time to really think about the people under the blankets, and how she could bring them comfort.  Then she actually took action to ease the bodies and minds of people she will never even meet.

That little bit of lavender warmed my heart in many ways.  It helped me reminisce about delightful days as a girl.  But more than this, it reminded me about the magnificent compassion that lives within each one of us, and the power we all have every day to bring light, hope and peace to others.

And so here’s sending a little bit of lavender your way today.

You’re only here for a short visit.  Don’t hurry. Don’t worry. And be sure to smell the flowers along the way.” Walter Hagen

4 comments on “A Little Bit of Lavender

  1. Nancy
    July 6, 2011

    That is so lovely. I just visited a Lavender Farm nearby and they talked about that relaxed, stress-free feeling. What a wonderful person she must be.

    • thedaybrightener
      July 7, 2011

      Thank you and I am so glad you enjoyed the story. I really love your blog too. You have me thinking – what kind of flower would I be? I look forward to thinking about this some more!

  2. Diane D.
    July 7, 2011

    Lovely and touching story, it brings me in tears. sniffling. Diane

    • thedaybrightener
      July 7, 2011

      Thank you Diane. It means the world to me to know that this story has touched your heart too. One little action can sometimes mean so much! Heres hoping your day is full of light, hope and peace.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 6, 2011 by in Musings and Reflections, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , .
