The Day Brightener

Because everyone has the right to be truly free and happy

Mork & Mindy

Here is the next wonderful entry in the Day Brightener Cinema, well, to be correct, it is the tv show Mork and Mindy.  A few weeks ago I was hit with the flu.  It took me days to move from the safety of my bed to the lounge to watch a bit of tv.  But what a joy when I did.  Most of the time was spent just staring at whatever was on, but then, at 4.30 in the afternoon, along came Mork and Mindy.

I remembered this show vaguely from childhood, with the greatest memory being we named our first dog Mork.  That is why seeing it again as an adult came as such a wonderful surprise.  I just loved watching this show for so many reasons.  First and foremost was for Robin Williams – his carefree and wacky sense of humour is a true delight.  But I realised watching a few episodes that the real joy came in the lessons that Mork learnt along the way about being human.  Here are a few of my favourite episodes:

In this episode Mork realises that feelings are good.

This episode made me cry.  Mork role plays what he would have said if he met Mindy’s deceased Mother.  It is really beautiful, and includes Mork’s wonderful insight that “I had to come millions of miles to find something that is deep inside of me.”

And finally, here is Mork’s last ditch effort to convince Mindy to marry him.  Here is where the heart truly shines.

“I can’t be happy unless I make you happy too”

I hope you enjoy these snippets as much as I have watching them again.

So here is Nanoo Nanoo, over and out.

Leave a Reply

