The Day Brightener

Because everyone has the right to be truly free and happy

Feeling Good – Nina Simone

I am really proud to introduce the next song on The Day Brightener Soundtrack – Feeling Good by Nina Simone.  I discovered Nina’s music in my early 20’s when I had just started my working life.  Her music has seen me through many highs and lows, and it has been wonderful to reconnect with it today.

I really enjoy Nina’s music for her earthiness, and simplicity, and I hope you enjoy it too.  I looked through many videos for Feeling Good, most of course being the obligatory montages of Nina’s portraits.  However, in my search I came across the following really groovy one.  It was done by design students, and I think it’s simplicity and cleverness really does the song justice.

Just in case you would like a little bit more Nina, here is another great Day Brightener song called I’ve Got Life.  It was written by her as a support song for the civil rights movement in America.  But it has got a great general message, and that is all the material things in life can be taken away from you, but you still have power in your own body and soul, and as long as you have life you can make a difference!

“I had spent many years pursuing excellence, because that is what classical music is all about… Now it was dedicated to freedom, and that was far more important.” Nina Simone


Leave a Reply

