The Day Brightener

Because everyone has the right to be truly free and happy

So Special

The newest addition to the Day Brightener Soundtrack has been inspired by a ripple of happiness that started at work yesterday.  Picture this – a man comes dancing into the lunch room, earphones in, cheerfully singing “I’m special, so special, I’m gonna have some of your attention, give it to me!”

Of course, all of us in the lunch room had a good chuckle with him, especially when he said “gee I sound good with these headphones on.”

It was so great to see someone really enjoying themselves and being truly free and happy.  Watching him smile and sing “I’m special, so special” was just that.  It really brightened my day, and I have been singing this in my head ever since.

What is even funnier was that this song then became the anthem of the day, with cries of “I’m special, so special” being heard randomly across the floor, spreading a little bit of joy throughout the day.

I hope that this song – Brass in Pocket by The Pretenders brightens your day a little bit too.  I really like the live performance below, just because of its honesty and simplicity.  There are no bells or whistles, just great artists performing a great song.  Enjoy!

‘CAUSE I GONNA MAKE YOU SEE
THERE’S NOBODY ELSE HERE
NO ONE LIKE ME
I’M SPECIAL, SO SPECIAL
I GOTTA HAVE SOME OF YOUR ATTENTION
GIVE IT TO ME

Leave a Reply

