The Day Brightener

Because everyone has the right to be truly free and happy

The Day Brightener Gallery

In the process of writing my previous post (Turn the Painting Around), I spent some time really looking at, and considering the painting I was called to reverse.  You know, although I have had this painting for over a decade, until a few days ago, I had not even known who the subject of the portrait was!

And then the other day, after some investigation, I found out that the painting is a portrait of Urania, the muse of astrology. She sits comfortably next to a tree, reaching for the sky, wearing a crown of stars and a flowing yellow robe. It is quite an unassuming piece, one that could be easily missed on a quick scan of the room. Yet I am always drawn to it. Her face exudes serenity, grace, confidence, discipline and faith. It is these qualities that provide me with a sense of calmness, but also a motivation to do my best for her. Yes, it is funny, but in a way, Urania has become my muse as well.

Looking more closely at this painting then I ever had, I began to consider the power that art has to inspire the lives of others.

From the inspired heart and dedicated mind of one person comes a work of art that touches millions, and changes the way we see our world and our own lives.

After connecting with this painting, I began exploring other artworks that I had previously enjoyed, but which have slipped from my mind of late.  In my exploration, I realised there are so many beautiful works of art out there that have the power to brighten the day.

For this reason I have started the Day Brightener Gallery.  My aim is to collect those works of art that bring light hope and peace.

So, my call to you today is to find those paintings that you find truly beautiful. Post them up where you can see them, and let them inspire you to create your own bright day. Then please, share them with me, and I will add them to the Day Brightener Art Gallery so that others may share in the inspiration.

Below is the first entry – Impression: Sunrise by Monet. I really enjoy looking at this painting, not only as a reminder of the skill and dedication of the painter, but also to remind myself of just how beautiful and simple life should be.

Impression: The Sunrise , 1872,  Claude Monet.

To explore more beautiful Monet paintings go to: http://www.monetalia.com

“Landscape is nothing but an impression, and an instantaneous one” Monet

4 comments on “The Day Brightener Gallery

  1. Helen
    March 8, 2011

    Now I’m going to change the chips on you and suggest an uplifting anthem for the disenfranchised youth by my current fave band My Chemical Romance – the video is a hoot – shows how you can feel outcast but still embrace it big time . Ware the iTunes download – contains language – go to YouTube to fully appreciate the video

    • Helen
      March 8, 2011

      Might help if I give song title ‘I’m not okay’ I am a plank!

  2. Leelee Wood
    March 8, 2011

    Hiya B,

    I’ve been trying to think about art work that has inspired me and I came up almost completely empty handed. Photography, certain subjects captured on film inspire in a way that painting, sculpture and music do not. Which isn’t to say I don’t love works done in those mediums because I most certainly do.

    There have been paintings and photographs that have moved, to tears in fact, but I can’t think of a piece that has inspired me. I have favourite works, the ultimate being Botticelli’s ‘Birth of Venus’. I fell in love with that painting in high school and if I could only ever have one piece of art in my lifetime, that would be it, I was spellbound from the first moment I saw it.

    I also love most of Van Gogh’s work. His paintings vibrate with life, I can feel his passion, his drive, his frustration and his madness and the price he paid to lay his soul bare on canvas in nearly everything he did. Some of his works make me cry if I look at them to long.

    I adore the zaniness of Dali, the way he was fearless about twisting reality. I love the way he plays with the mind.

    I like some of Monet’s paintings, the more pastel they are, the less I tend to like them, he took serene and made it his own in the end, but I’m a colour junkie, so my favourites are the brilliant, jewel like gardens.

    Nature and photographs of nature are where I find most inspiration, both in my desire to create and as a reminder of how incredibly beautiful life can be. I am plagued by depression and often lose sight of the positive things, so when I see a photograph of a nebula, or a spider’s web covered in raindrops, an unusual cloud formation, the sound of a baby giggling, these are the types of things that inspire me to create, to try to be a better person, to appreciate all that life has to offer.

    Hoo boy, just realized I’ve been rambling. Hopefully we can catch up next time I’m over, I had a wonderful time today. It was an honour to interact with Clara and Evvy, they are beautiful, inspiring children and you’re both doing an amazing job with them. I have long felt that the hardest task, the most important thing a person can do with their life is to bring up a happy, well rounded child. It is the greatest work any human can possibly do.

    • thedaybrightener
      March 13, 2011

      Hello Leanne,

      Thank you so much for your wonderful message. You have given me so many ideas for things to add to my blog – starting with The Birth of Venus. It is truly a beautiful piece, and with some help from Plato, it fits perfectly into The Day Brightener.

      I look forward to exploring a few more ideas over the next few posts. I hope you enjoy my blog, and hope to see you very soon.
      Thinking of you, and sending all our warmest wishes your way…

Leave a Reply

