The Day Brightener

Because everyone has the right to be truly free and happy

Flower Child

If children live with friendliness, they learn the world is a nice place in which to live.
Flower Child

In this story, He-He The Day Brightener meets a special little girl called Claudia.  As the character of Claudia emerged, it stirred many memories of my childhood, some lovely, and some that still haunt me today.  I remember feeling awkward and lonely, not sure of exactly where I fitted in, just knowing that I had an overwhelming need to be wanted – to have the other kids like me.  Reliving these memories also brought back to my mind (and heart) the pain I felt when I was mocked, teased or shunned.  This is also the sadness that is within Claudia’s heart as she tries to find her place in the world.

This story served as a reminder to me that children too need the love and compassion of The Day Brightener.  Throughout their formative years, their self-worth is being created and challenged at every step.  For this reason I call out to everyone else that reads this story, to surround your children with positivity and support.  I am a parent of two little girls, and I know that every day can’t be Disneyland, but what children live, they learn:

If children live with criticism, they learn to condemn.  If children live with hostility, they learn to fight.
If children live with ridicule, they learn to be shy.  If children live with shame, they learn to feel guilty.
 If children live with encouragement, they learn confidence.
If children live with tolerance, they learn to be patient.
If children live with praise, they learn to appreciate.
If children live with acceptance, they learn to love.
 If children live with approval, they learn to like themselves.
If children live with security, they learn to have faith in themselves and others.
 If children live with friendliness, they learn the world is a nice place in which to live.
          Copyright © 1972/1975 by Dorothy Law Nolte

 

Being good role models of acceptance and approval though can be difficult if you do not have self-love and positivity in your own hearts.  Even though we may not want to admit it, I am sure many of us are still bearing the scars from rejection and loneliness experienced in our childhood.  But we “grow up” and tell ourselves to “get over it”.  However, we still have the innate need to be accepted by our families, peers and colleagues, and so we (sometimes unwittingly) suppress, or in some cases completely reject and detach from our true selves.  Pervasive sadness and self-harm are often the results.  This is in complete contrast to the joyous He-He who loves his gifts and lets them take him where he needs to be.

Could I be bold enough to suggest that if this has happened in your life, you need to do something about it?  There are so many tools and techniques out there, you need to find whatever works for you to allow you to reconnect and respect yourself.  For me, dream alchemy with Jane Teresa Anderson has been a really beautiful and effective way to make a deep connection with my spirit.  For more information on dream alchemy go to: www.janeteresa.com .

In the thought-provoking post “A Virtuous Cycle” by Mary Contrary (http://whitepaintedwoman.wordpress.com/2011/01/18/a-virtuous-cycle/) we are reminded that the small actions we take can start ripples of love and kindness that move out into the world.  What better point of origin for a wide and wonderful ripple and then yourself?  If we can break the cycle and be good role models for a strong and positive sense of self-worth, then we will also send the world a gift of loving children who will make their own waves of change.

“You must be the change you want to see in the world”          Mahatma Ghandi

As He-He would do, I now find myself reposing, and wondering what ripples Claudia’s meeting with The Day Brightener may have started.

4 comments on “Flower Child

  1. Helen Shorrocks
    January 21, 2011

    I may get in trouble here – but Belinda you know me well enough to know that what I have to say may be of value, this is the magic of blogs. It is all well and good to say children need friends from their parents and understanding etc. I am an absolute advocate for putting as much magic into your child’s life as possible – I was lucky enough to have that experience with a very creative father and a very loving mother – that said there was a dark side to the relationship as well, as there is with all fairy tales.
    Please never confuse the relationship as parent/child with friend/child it confuses the children, they lose boundaries and respect and I am only speaking from experience. Teach them respect, on a mutual basis, appreciation of life, to care for the less fortunate but never that a child is your equal. They do not have your experience, they do not have your knowledge and you just put them at risk all the more for expecting them to exhibit it.

    Let the insults flow…..

  2. Helen Shorrocks
    January 21, 2011

    Sorry – this is He-He – let the blessings flow – thought I was taking to Jennifer for a moment there!

  3. mfptkd
    January 22, 2011

    My mother had that poem in a framed poster on her bedroom wall for many years as I was growing up. Haven’t thought of it in a long time. I work with children every day – thank you for the reminder.
    P.S. My mother’s name is Claudia. Amazing how the world works.

    • thedaybrightener
      January 24, 2011

      Thank you so much for your lovely message. Wow – yes sometimes things like that amaze me. I have no idea where the name Claudia came from for the story – it just popped into my head. Maybe we could chalk that one down to synchronicity? I am really enjoying your blog – you write so many wonderful and varied pieces. Really like the latest one about the movie too – very insightful! HOpe you are having a great day!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 20, 2011 by in Adventures of He-He The Day Brightener and tagged , , , , , .
